NEWS: Detroit download – AMA Supercross

Share This Story !

Honda Takes Over Motor City!

In the 450 heat races we saw Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jason Anderson and HRC Honda’s Chase Sexton take the checkered flag. The close finishes in the heat race set the line up for what was going to be an epic main event. Red Bull KTM’s Aaron Plessinger executed the start perfectly to grab the holeshot followed closely behind Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Adam Cianciarulo. Cianciarulo quickly found his way by the KTM rider heading into the second turn with the title favorites, Cooper Webb and Eli Tomac fallin just behind the top two. Plessinger found his way around Cianciarulo early into the main event and started to run away from the pack. KTM and Yamaha’s Webb and Tomac quickly followed suit and made their way around AC. Red Bull Gasgas’ Justin Barcia was on a move and found his way to the front of Webb and Tomac while HRC Honda’s Chase Sexton was right behind his championship rivals. Sexton didn’t stay behind them for long as his sights were set on getting to the lead. Webb, Tomac and Barcia had a great battle going on for a few laps, which allowed Plessinger to get an 8 second lead over the pack. Sexton never backed down, and with about 2 laps left, Aaron Plessinger made a major mistake and ended up crashing himself out of the race. Chase Sexton inherited a 6 second lead and cruised his way in for his 2nd win on the season. Cooper Webb finished up 2nd and Eli Tomac rounded out the podium. Justin Barcia finished 4th with HEP Suzuki’s Ken Roczen in 5th. Aaron Plessinger ended up in 13th. After the race, the AMA gave Chase Sexton a 7 point penalty for jumping on a red cross flag. Although, this did not change the overall results on the night, it did knock him back 7 more points in the championship hunt.

450 Class Overall: 1) Chase Sexton 2) Cooper Webb 3) Eli Tomac 4) Justin Barcia 5) Ken Roczen 6) Christian Craig 7) Justin Hill 8) Adam Cianciarulo 9) Jason Anderson 10) Josh Hill

450 Class Championship points: 1) Cooper Webb 225 2) Eli Tomac 222 3) Chase Sexton 208 4) Ken Roczen 182 5) Jason Anderson 180 6) Justin Barcia 174 7) Aaron Plessinger 164 8) Christian Craig 136 9) Adam Cianciarulo 107 10) Justin Hill 103

In the 250 heat race, we saw Muc OFF FXR ClubMX Yamaha’s Jeremy Martin win his controversial heat race. Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha’s Nate Thrasher took the win in heat 2. In the main event, HRC Honda Hunter Lawrence took the holeshot and never looked back. Nate Thrasher started up front and tried to reel in Lawrence, but could never get the gap down. The battle was on for the final podium spot as early on it was Jeremy Martin, but there was no denying Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha’s young rookie, Haiden Deegan. Deegan worked his way up into 3rd and finished on the podium for the second time in the season, and his second of his young career. Martin finished in 4th and Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Chris Blose was able to hang on to 5th just ahead of the French rookie Red Bull KTM’s Tom Vialle.

250 Class Overall: 1) Hunter Lawrence 2) Nate Thrasher 3) Haiden Deegan 4) Jeremy Martin 5) Chris Blose 6) Tom Vialle 7) Cullin Park 8) Coty Schock 9) Henry Miller 10) Michael Hicks

250 Class Championship Points: 1) Hunter Lawrence 151 2) Nate Thrasher 116 3) Haiden Deegan 111 4) Jeremy Martin 109 5) Max Anstie 104 6) Jordon Smith 92 7) Chris Blose 88 8)Tom Vialle 85 9) Coty Schock 72 10) Cullin Park 67

Now on Cult Moto